(i can’t get no) satisfaction

it occurred to me that the voracious ambitions of humans is never sated by dreams coming true, because there is always the thought that everything can be done better and again.

20120528-071331.jpg

I have always been ambitious. I put my whole heart into things. But I don’t recall ever considering what constitutes enough. What does the congratulations moment look like? Objectively, I think that people may set unrealistic goals for themselves when they are afraid. It’s easier said than done to break the cycle, to just live free and be satisfied. But the first step has got to be awareness, right? After all, the only thing I can control is my state of mind.

sat·is·fac·tion

a. The fulfillment or gratification of a desire, need, or appetite.
b. Pleasure or contentment derived from such gratification.

see also: contentment, pride, complacency, joy, achievement, triumph

One thought on “(i can’t get no) satisfaction

  1. damn. you are so right. the path to achievement may be momentarily sated by some success, but ultimately it just makes me want more. i sometimes wonder if the bigger and better goals are too much. despite how many aha moments i have in recognizing “perfection” doesn’t truly exist, it’s still something i yearn to reach. ambition is both a dangerous and awesome thing.

penny for your thoughts?

