modern day miracle

Today is momentous. It almost wasn’t possible. After years of clipped wings and nearly fading away, I’m euphoric with the news that my friend is finding freedom. My heart is warm and full of hope.

Then I look around me on the crowded train, at the expressionless drones mulling about lacking even the simple awareness of their existence. Sleeping (literally sleeping), I see people everywhere living without acting or feeling alive.

20120724-235057.jpg

Today is brilliant. And, isn’t every day? Isn’t there some amazing quality in every waking moment? How easily it can be to lose touch with how fortunate we are. One thing I’ve seen and learned is the sheer power of gratitude. I never want a day to pass without counting my blessings. I want to relish in the moments that I feel alive and try to initiate each day with more passion than the last.

20120724-235204.jpg

I still spend a lot of time simply spending time, but I am learning to harness the present. Then there are just those moments – you must know those moments – where the very breath you take excites you. Your heart gushes, your mind on fire, every square inch of your body and soul engaged in really living.

For me, it’s…
A generous handful of favourite songs.
Basking in nature, sunlight and fresh water.
Genuinely laughing with my true loved ones.

What makes you feel alive?

One thought on “modern day miracle

  1. Those moments…where the very breath you take excites you, your heart gushes, your mind on fire, every square inch of your body and soul engaged in really living. Yes… love this feeling and truely something money can’t buy…thank-you for reminding me of it. Love this peice! X00X

penny for your thoughts?

