someway baby, it’s part of me, apart from me

Leave nothing behind and never look back.

Those are the two things I was told the day I started this journey and I’ve heard repeated each day since. Remove those thoughts, so well practiced, so simultaneously useless and impressive. Extinguish all those beliefs you took comfort in – If I allow anything to settle, if only more than a moment, it will root itself, multiply and strike.

My days are spent so passionately charged that I sometimes forget to check my blind spots (that’s a little trick I like to play). If I allow myself the moment to look, I may find little signs and whispers hiding in the shadows. Do they threaten me? Alone, they stand no chance. And yet it matters – maybe less than a little, but always more than none. Letting them in only leaves room to grow. There is simply not enough space in my full life to allow any traces to remain.

You have all the weapons you need.

2 thoughts on “someway baby, it’s part of me, apart from me

penny for your thoughts?

