if you call one wolf, you invite the pack

I’m an intelligent chick. I learn quickly and make rational choices to stay out of trouble.

20130731-190124.jpg

Still, every now and then, a negative idea will pop up. As if it was planted there by some external force. It stands alone like a weed in a garden of all the other thoughts and feelings that bloom in my mind. Many of these ideas are easily debunked by my rationality, quickly plucked from the garden and discarded.

Many aren’t so easy to get rid of. Sometimes, I remove them only to find they have bloomed again the next day, in the same place or somewhere totally different. These peskier thoughts activate my negative mind and like to stick around for awhile.

20130731-190520.jpg

Instead of being quickly removed by my rational thinking, these manipulative weeds seem to harness my strengths, capitalizing on my intelligence and excellent vocabulary. Suddenly, I’m negotiating with them, wondering what would happen if I simply left them there. This kind of upkeep requires a lot of work and I grow tired. So, what if I just left one maladaptive thought? Maybe I could take comfort in its small presence without allowing it to take over…

We can’t. It breeds. It grows. Allowing one thought to take root is letting others sprout up around it at impossible rates. We must remain vigilant, strong and positive. And, if anything, one step ahead.

20130731-190211.jpg

penny for your thoughts?

