thanksgiving ii

wildheart

To practice gratitude means more to me than counting my blessings at night before I fall asleep.

20121007-113031.jpg

You cannot selectively numb feelings. You cannot decide to shut some of them out without blocking everything altogether in the process. Joy. Connection. Comfort. It’s easy to learn how to know things – anyone can do that. But you cannot be taught how to feel.

20121007-112737.jpg

In those moments of true feeling, I am grateful.

I am being nobody else in a world trying its hardest to make me everybody-but-me. In those moments of fear and vulnerability, when I wonder if I can really love this fiercely? Believe in this so passionately?

To stop and just say instead: I am so grateful. Because to feel this vulnerable means that I’m alive.

20121007-112352.jpg

View original post

penny for your thoughts?

