give back your heart, to itself

The time will come
When, with elation,
You will greet yourself arriving
At your own door, in your own mirror,
And each will smile at the other’s welcome.

And say, sit here. Eat.
You will love again the stranger who was your self.
Give wine.
Give bread.
Give back your heart
To itself, to the stranger who has loved you

All your life, whom you ignored
For another, who knows you by heart.
Take down the love letters from the bookshelf,

The photographs, the desperate notes,
Peel your image from the mirror.
Sit. Feast on your life.
Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 5.01.47 PM

Derek Walcott.

3 thoughts on “give back your heart, to itself

  1. Good to see you posting your Wildheart words again I have been in techno-remission but am getting reacquainted with new ambition and hope. I am identifying with your process and recently had to take a time out having noticed I too was creating a collection of thoughts and ideas. I resolve with both written and spoken word and I remember the bitter and the sweet, the mood no longer matters if I don’t. However I am very resourceful with such matters
    and in some cases put priorities into a different order. When forgetful I am soon irritable, it only makes sense to me to be so. And when I am happy or sad I am soon lost and forgetful of my intentions. I write you this without fear knowing I will nourish a plate and I have growled, barked and bitten at such times yet I realize so much more.
    Learning from trying and taking suggestions that are made with kindness and compassion is wonderful. I am a Wolf and my mother taught me these things a long time ago. However some minds have reduction before capacity and there is a void in which time fails to provide an instance for reflection. This is because I am obsessive, but not to worry I will check my blood sugar. and like today’s wolf I will merrily walk, run, chase, find through my senses which never gets old, and perhaps I will tell someone special about you.

penny for your thoughts?

